What is this feeling?

Every now and again, I get this ‘feeling’. There is no pattern to it, however it normally happens when I have been upset, or stressed. I find it hard to describe, but it is a feeling of intense exhaustion. I can lie down whereever I am, and will be unable to move, or even speak.

I will be so exhausted that I start to dribble, (sorry too much info I know), and I can’t even move my face to stop it.

I remember being in this state once when I heard my dog being attacked outside. I was unable to move, I just lay there, hearing his screams. It wasn’t that I was frozen to the spot, I just physically couldn’t move. Perhaps my head goes to a ‘place’ – I don’t know.

The strange thing is, as quick as it comes, it goes again – and I can jump up and be perfectly fine again.

Does anyone else experience this? Is this a BPD thing or something else?

Take Care. x

3 comments

  1. I used to experience this a lot, and I’ve found that being on medication has calmed it down somewhat although it still happens if I’m very stressed.

    I’m no expert, but I’ve always assumed it was a form of dissociation; when I can’t cope with something, my mind switches off to protect me. Does that make sense?

    1. Yeah it does, although it feels a little different to normal dissociation – when that happens I feel very vacant and fluffy – like my mind has closed down and gone quiet – this is more like I can actually think clearly, but I am just completely physically exhausted. I know it can’t be exhaustion though, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to just get up and snap out of it!

  2. Angel O'Fire · · Reply

    Getting up and moving around, putting on the laundry or doing literally anything other than sitting still will help this feeling of anxiety crossed with a sense of disassociation but not quite all of either one of the two emotions, go away……..time to get your heart a pumping

Leave a Reply

