Thought Stoppers

So, I found this brilliant little thing that helps me, and I hope by putting it out there it can help other people.

It is called a ‘Thought Stopper’ and is like a bracelet – except it is made of stretchy material with a loop that you can pull to give you a ‘sharp snap’ when you have a harming urge.

It works the same as an elastic band, and really seems to help me.

This is the website: http://www.thoughtstoppers.co.uk/ but I got mine from ebay, it was about £5 including delivery. You can pick the colours you want (I chose Orange because it’s the ‘self harm awareness’ colour and black).

The best thing is, when anyone asks you what it is, you tell them it’s a spare hairband :D! (I know it looks a bit crazy but you can ‘tuck’ the loop in so it isn’t so obvious 🙂

Anyway, just wanted to share 🙂

Take Care. x

4 comments

  1. […] wrist (this could be used for other reasons but that’s a whole other blog post! I have found Thought Stoppers to be effective for this) ice cubes on your skin, cold water, putting your head out of a moving car […]

  2. […] large marking where the lens on my phone’s camera is slightly scratched. This is known as a Thought Stopper; an item designed to help those suffering from the likes of depression and anxiety; a means of […]

  3. These are easy enough to make with four hair bobbles 🙂

  4. […] I tried methods of avoiding self harm such as snapping elastic bands on my wrists, buying a ‘Thought Stopper‘, drawing on my arms in red ink. At the time, I felt as though I was doing all I could to […]

Leave a Reply

