Progress?

So I went to see my psychiatrist this morning, Dr Cranmore. To be honest, I was pretty suprised to see I had a appointment booked with her because several months ago I was discharged by my CPN. We discussed the fact that I am starting to feel as though I am heading downwards – the constant rollercoaster of depression then mania – the self harm and suicidal urges – the fact I returned the binging and purging. I also discussed how I felt about Jen, and that I was sure it was going to make her back away from me, because to be honest, BPD can be pretty damn suffocating. She said that all of these things show that I would be ideal candidate for DBT, that they are all completely characteristic of BPD and that she will write a letter of referral to my new doctor to recommend I am offered the therapy. She also wrote me a script for 50mg Quitiapine daily. I don’t know how I feel about going back on some more medication, as I was coping on purely Escitalopram (or was I?). I know something needs to change, and hopefully DBT and a little support through medication can facilitate that.

Picture sourced from Google Images

2 comments

  1. Jaen Wirefly · · Reply

    I’m glad you’re entering into DBT. In the meantime invest in this book:

    Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder by Marsha Linehan

    http://books.google.com/books?id=qyZ0QgAACAAJ&source=gbs_similarbooks

    I’ve had it for years and it helps me calm down when the water is rough.

  2. Thanks. I bought it last night. Hopefully it will help. X

Leave a Reply

