A little impromptu poem

I find that writing poetry (and actually writing on my blog) helps me focus myself in times of stress (for example, earlier, when I was fighting dissociation). I wrote this little poem, I hope you like it :).

What do you see?

What do you see when you look at a face?

Do you look for the lines etched into place

Do you look for the wrinkles which stretch across skin

Or do you look deeper, to the beauty within?

 

What do you see when you look at my past?

Do you see the destruction or the damage that lasts?

Do you see the changes I’ve worked hard to make

The strength I have gained through those mistakes?

 

What do you see when you look down the line?

Have I made progress or am I frozen in time?

Is the future dark, or is the future bright?

Have I given in to the darkness or come into the light?

 

What do you see when you look at yourself?

Are you happy with life, your family and health?

Am I hurting you by wearing this frown;

Give me a chance, I won’t let you down.

 

What do you see when you look around?

A broken world, can’t see we’re hellbound

Sometimes you need to fight to feel alive

If we go it together, we can survive.  

2 comments

  1. Bourbon · · Reply

    Oh wow. This was absolutely amazing. Thanks so much for sharing xx

    1. Thanks! It was just a little something I thought of xx

Leave a Reply

