Blog for mental health 2014

Take the Pledge

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

2. Please include in your post as little or as much as you would like about your experiences with mental health.

I was a troubled teen, and those issues included predominately self harm, suicide attempts, disordered eating and unstable relationships. Late in my teens, after various other diagnoses, I was given the label of “Borderline Personality Disorder”. Thinking that was the end of my journey and this would be something that would ultimately end my life, I sank in to a darkness from which I believed there was no return.

Provided with medication and therapy from the NHS, nothing helped, until I discovered Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT). The waiting list on the NHS was too long and too slow moving so I bought myself a few books from Marsha Linehan aimed at therapists with the thought that I needed to learn the basics of the therapy from the inside out.

After a year of using the books, and a DBT group I found on Yahoo Groups, I managed to stop taking the medication that was clouding my mind. I invited into my life exercise, yoga, self care and a new relationship. I stopped self harming, and my new found love for myself contributed to my maintained abstinence from the habit.

I am now living life as full as I can. On a daily basis, I count my blessings. I feel happiness, I feel sadness, I feel anger and I feel fear. I do not use medication to cloud my emotions instead favouring to feel them in their entirety. I finally know what life is about, and I want to share this journey and this lesson with as many people as I can in the hope that other people can come from where I have, so that they can come from the darkness, and right out into the light.

3. Link back to the informational post at A Canvas of the Minds

If you would like to take the pledge please visit A Canvas of the Minds!

 

 

Leave a Reply

